Penn State International Law Review

First Paragraph

On February 17, 1989, Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia signed the Treaty to Constitute the Union of the Arab Maghreb (Treaty) in Marrakesh, Morocco. The Arab Maghreb Union (Union) now comprises sixty-two million people within a region rich in oil, natural gas, fish, and minerals. The purpose for its creation was to promote political and economic integration, as well as to afford the Member States more leverage with the European Economic Community (EEC) in the advent of 1992. Therefore, determined to accelerate their economic integration, the Member States announced plans for a customs union by 1995.